Remington Golden Saber Vs. Federal HydraShok

Moderators: Jim Bob, Jbar4Ranch, Moderators

kstoneking
Principal Member
Principal Member

Remington Golden Saber Vs. Federal HydraShok

Postby kstoneking » Sun Apr 10, 2011 1:35 am

Hello all,
It's time to rotate my stock of defensive ammunition and I am about to buy a good quantity for my handguns. Recent reading has hinted that my long time go-to round, Federal HydraShok, perhaps isn't considered a premium choice anymore. I have been researching the Remington Golden Saber hollowpoint, and while it looks promising, I have no personal experience with it. I would be buying it in the following calibers and weights: 9mm +p/124gr., .38 +p/125gr., .357 magnum/125gr., and .45 acp/230gr. While price isn't the top consideration, seeing how this is to be my defensive ammo, the Golden Saber is less expensive than the HydraShok. Of course, any savings would be offset by having to buy a larger quantity of the Golden Saber in order to function test my pistols, which have already proven to be 100% reliable with the HydraShok.

So, I guess my question is twofold. 1. Is Golden Saber a reliable round for defensive purposes? 2. Is HydraShok an outdated defensive round that should be replaced?

Everyone's opinions and experiences with these defensive rounds would be very much appreciated.

Kenny
"I carry a gun because I'm too young to die and too old to take an ass whippin'!"

oberstlt
Charter Member
Charter Member

Re: Remington Golden Saber Vs. Federal HydraShok

Postby oberstlt » Sun Apr 10, 2011 7:00 am

Ken:

My 340 has the +P REM GS in it right now. But I am not sure if it is in fact any better (or worse) than the FED HS. I am not convinced we can prove any superiority on either hand. I also like the SPR GDs as well.
Stuart T. Ashton
LTC, AR, AUS (Ret)

legacy38
Senior Admin
Senior Admin

Postby legacy38 » Sun Apr 10, 2011 7:13 am

Speer Gold Dots ;)

CoastieN70

Postby CoastieN70 » Sun Apr 10, 2011 8:48 am